Harris Red Card Still Stands

Last updated : 14 September 2010 By Queens MAD

Queens skipper Bob Harris was not victim of mistaken identity

SFA disciplinary beaks have cleared-up confusion surrounding Queen of the South captain Bob Harris' red card on Saturday.

The Doonhamers defender was sent off by referee John McKendrick in the dying seconds of the 3-1 defeat at Falkirk.

Queens officials initially thought McKendrick mistakenly punished Harris for knocking the ball over the bar with his hand in a late goalmouth scramble when it was, in fact, Craig Reid standing on the line.

However, an SFA spokesman has since revealed that Harris was shown red for a push in the box which led to the late penalty award.

Carl Finnigan missed the resultant spot kick but the Bairns eased to victory.


Image courtesy of www.qosfc.com